MINUTES OF THE REACTOR PHYSICS DIVISION EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING AMERICAN NUCLEAR SOCIETY

Town and Country Resort and Convention Center San Diego, CA June 5, 2005, 4:00-6:00 PM

The RPD executive committee meeting was held on June 5, 2005 at Town and Country Resort and Convention Center in San Diego, California.

- 1. The meeting was called to order by the Chair Baard Johansen at 4:03PM.
- 2. Minutes of the November 2004 meeting was approved.
- 3. The Chair of the 2005 ANS Student Conference, Margaret Mkhosi, thanked the executive committee for contributing \$1500 to the conference. She reported that the conference attracted 250 students from 23 universities. The reactor physics session had 11 papers with Eric Burgett, a Senior at Georgia Tech, as the Best Presentation Winner.
- 4. Rian Bahram, the Chair of the 2006 ANS Student Conference, briefed the committee on the status of the conference and requested RPD financial support. It was mentioned that RPD Goals & Planning document has \$1500 targeted for 2006 ANS student conference support.
- 5. Farzad Rahnema reported that the latest issue of the RPD newsletter was sent electronically to the members just prior to the San Diego meeting. Improvements to the RPD website were discussed and the following suggestions were made:
 - a. Streamline the look and the design of the site by using better color scheme and graphics
 - b. Move the entire table of contents (the entire site right now) to the sidebar with some expandable menus and links to other pages
 - c. Include a greeting from the RPD Chair and headlines if any
 - d. Update the content but maintain an archive of old files
 - e. List sessions of old and current meetings
 - f. List scholarship winners
 - g. Include the RPD charter on the top page
- 6. The treasurer Ben Rouben reported that the actual budget for 2004 was \$21,583. The balance as of 12/31/2004 was \$9,505. Major expenditures in 2004 were \$2,000 in student support and \$10,000 in scholarship/NEED funding. The projected budget for 2005 is \$13,280. The anticipated expenditures are for awards and plaques, student support and scholarship in the amounts of \$200, \$2,000 and \$2,000, respectively. This will lead to a balance of \$9,080 at the end of 2005.
- 7. The nominating committee announced the new 2005-2006 officers and executive members:

Chair: Jess Gehin; Vice-Chair/Chair Elect: Benjamin Rouben; Treasurer: Farzad Rahnema; Secretary: Jeffrey Bradfute; Executive Committee: Abderrafi Ougouag, Taek Kyum Kim and Michael Zerkle

- 8. The winner of the Henry / Greebler scholarship was not announced at the time of the meeting.
- 9. The Chair of the RPD Program Committee, Ivan Maldonado, reported that including the two special sessions, 46 papers were to be presented at the June 2005 meeting. This accounted for about 15% of the total papers in the Transactions. In addition to the presentation sessions, Bob St. Clair and Scott Thomas organized a panel discussion session on Current Topics for Reactor Engineers to be held on June 6. Maldonado encouraged the committee and the RPD members to volunteer to organize special sessions for the June 2006 meeting. Farzad Rahnema, Abderrafi Ougouag and Madeline

- Feltus will be organizing a special session on the Physics of High Temperature Reactors. Maldonado is also soliciting proposals for PHYSOR 2008. The current possible bidders are from Spain and Switzerland.
- 10. At the urging ANS President Jim Tulenko, RPD requested Atul Karve (as representative of Eastern Carolinas Local Section) to report by the next Winter Meeting on that Section's plans for hosting the Advances in Fuel Management-IV topical meeting. The likely dates would be either 2007 or 2009 so as to not conflict with PHYSOR.
- 11. Dimitri Cokinos reported on the status of the Standards committee:
 - a. The revision and approval process of the Decay Heat Standard, ANS-5.1, has been completed.
 - b. Consensus Committee N-17 is now reviewing two revised standards, ANS-19.3, "Reaction Rate Distribution and Reactivity in Power Reactors," and ANS-19.6-1, "Reload Startup Physics Tests for PWRs."
 - c. James Mallay, Chair of the ANS Standards Board, the highest standards organization within ANS, plans to retire after the June 2005 meeting. He will be succeeded by Prasad Kadambi of U.S. NRC.
 - d. There is a new effort to collaborate with the International Standards Organization (ISO). The goal is to introduce U.S. (ANSI) nuclear standards for dissemination among users in other countries. Reactor Physics and Research Reactor standards are being targeted for introduction to the ISO list.
 - e. Dimitri Cokinos presented two lectures on ""Standards in Reactor Physics Design" as part of a short course on "Neutron Transport and Reactor Physics Methods for Next Generation Reactor Design" held in the Korean Advance Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST) in Daejon, South Korea on February 24 and 25, 2005.
- 12. Dimitri Cokinos, the Chair of the Honors and Awards Committee, reported that Massimo Salvatores has been selected as the winner of the Wigner Award. Cokinos suggested creating an endowment for this award in the near future. He also encouraged the Executive Committee members to nominate deserving individuals for this award.
- 13. Russ Mosteller, reporting on the status of the Joint Benchmark Committee (JBC), expressed concerns about the low attendance of the JBC members in the recent meetings. No new benchmark problems are ready for review by the committee.
- 14. The RPD Chair Baard Johansen reported the following:
 - a. In 2003, the ANS Professional Divisions implemented metrics to gauge the vitality of each ANS division. These measures are used to identify areas needing attention by the Division. The RPD was green on 14 of the 15 metrics indicating that the division is exceeding ANS expectations in these areas,. The only area evaluated as yellow was RPD's lack of sponsorship for Class III Topicals it was noted that it's RPD stated goal to host the PHYSOR topical as a standalone Class I/II meeting.
 - b. Johansen suggested
 - to formalize the nomination of a Young Member to the RPD Technical Program Committee (the RPD One-Year Tactical Plan for 2005-06 was amended to include an initiative to "continue to see out qualified young members (<35 years) to serve in Division governance, such as Technical Program Committee), and
 - to provide funding to sponsor student travel to the PHYSOR 2006 meeting (Ben Rouben has the action by next Winter Meeting in time for 2006 budgeting process to recommend the logistics for handling this award and the dollar amount)
 - c. The succession plan for the RPD officers are:

- i. The elected Secretary is promoted to Treasurer; Treasurer is promoted to Vice Chair who will be responsible for maintaining and updating the Goals and Plan; Vice Chair is promoted to Chair.
- d. The ANS 5.1 standard is moved from "in progress" to "complete (in publication)" status.
- e. Relevant items from the Professional Division Committee (PDC) which met on Saturday are
 - i. All divisions have improved on their metrics
 - ii. The PDC discussed how to keep up the quality of the papers accepted for presentation at the ANS meetings and how to improve attendance in the Thursday sessions.
 - iii. ANS Bylaws and Rules Committee will create a set of "standard" bylaws that have to be adhered to by all of the divisions. These bylaws will be taken to the Board of Directors for approval.
- 15. The proposal to establish an ANS Technical Group on Nuclear Production of Hydrogen passed unanimously.
- 16. The proposal to establish an ANS Young Member Technical Group passed by a majority vote.
- 17. No new business was introduced.
- 18. The Chair Baard Johansen thanked the outgoing Executive Committee members.
- 19. The meeting adjourned at 5:56PM.

Respectfully submitted by Farzad Rahnema, Secretary