

MINUTES

Reactor Physics Division Program Committee Meeting

November 6, 2016, 2:00 pm – 4:00 pm, Octavius 1&2, Caesar Palace, Las Vegas, NV

Present: See attached attendance list

Next meeting: June 11, 2016, 2:00 pm – 4:00 pm, San Francisco (Hyatt Regency)

1. Call to order at 2:08 pm - Cristian Rabiti

2. Designation of Minutes-Taker

RPD secretary, Florent Heidet, is in charge of taking the minutes

3. PHYSOR 2018 update - Gustavo Alonso

PHYSOR 2018 website is already online at www.physor2018.mx. The meeting gates are April 22-26, 21018. Organizers are expecting most participants to stay at the conference hotel in order to facilitate negotiating good deals.

This will be a Class C meeting with 25% of the benefit going back to RPD.

4. Approval of the minutes from the RPD Program Committee of the 2016 ANS Annual meeting in New Orleans. – Cristian Rabiti

Minutes were approved.

5. Old/new program committee members - Cristian Rabiti

The names of new program committee members (cf. Fall 2016 RPD newsletter) were acknowledged. They will be serving for a 3-years term which started in June 2016, after the ANS Meeting in New Orleans.

6. Papers collected for the 2016 ANS Meetings - Cristian Rabiti

Only 41 papers had been presented at the RPD sessions during the 2016 Annual Meeting in New Orleans in June 2016. This relatively modest number of papers is a consequence of having PHYSOR organized the same year.

For the current meeting (2016 ANS Winter meeting in Las Vegas), a total of 86 papers were received/accepted by RPD, making it a successful meeting. Two RPD special sessions are organized at this meeting.

7. Best paper – Cristian Rabiti & all



The best paper from the 2016 ANS Annual Meeting in New Orleans was acknowledged.

The process for selecting the best paper for each meeting will be changed. Pre-selection will still be done by the reviewers based on the paper/abstract submitted in the system. Now, as a result of a vote from the Program committee members, the authors of the papers pre-selected ("short listed") will be informed at least a week before the beginning of the meeting at which they will be presenting their paper. This will allow sufficient time for the RPD program chair to find and assign judges to attend those presentations.

8. 2017 ANS Annual Meeting in San Francisco, CA - Cristian Rabiti

The deadline for abstract submission is January 11, 2017. Six RPD special sessions will be organized.

Special sessions for the upcoming 2017 ANS Winter Meeting in Washington DC – Cristian Rabiti & all

For now, two special sessions have been proposed for this meeting. "Reactor Physics Challenges for MSR", by M. Fratoni which will be likely be split into a panel session and a technical session, and "US & UK Collaboration Opportunities" by A. Worrall.

Proposal for additional special sessions may still be accepted during the few weeks following the 2016 ANS Winter meeting.

Mentions were made of having a special session to highlight the upcoming release of the ENDF/B.VIII.0 database.

[from the RPD Exec meeting, it was decided to organize a young professional poster session/competition at the 2017 ANS Winter Meeting]

10. Designation of judges for the best paper awards

Six RPD members present at the RPD Program committee accepted to attend presentations for the short listed abstracts and judge the presentation (2016 ANS Winter meeting)

11. Adjournment – Cristian Rabiti

Meeting was adjourned at 3:20 pm.

Minutes prepared by Florent Heidet, RPD Secretary

Attachments: RPD Program Committee Meeting Attendance Sheet

RPD Program Committee Meeting Agenda



RPD PROGRAM COMMITTEE MEETING AGENDA

2:00 – 4:30 pm, Sunday, November 6, 2016 ANS Winter Meeting, Las Vegas, NV Caesars Palace, Room OCTAVIUS 1 & 2

2:00	Call to order
2: 00-2:10	Designation of Minutes-Taker
2:10-2:30	Update PHYSOR conference organization
2:30-2:40	Approval of minutes from the ANS 2016 Annual Meeting
2:40-2:50	Old/New Members
2:50-3:15	From the Newsletter
•	Papers Annual 2016
•	Best paper Annual 2016
•	Papers Winter 2016

• Deadlines and special session Annual 2017

3:15-3:40 Discussion special session Winter 2017

3:40-4:00 Designation judge for best paper

Adjourn

4:30

×		Wei Shen
4	Alexander.Stanculescu@inl.gov	Alexander Stanculescu
	cristian.rabiti@inl.gov	Cristian Rabiti
	carlo.parisi@inl.gov	Carlo Parisi
May	Tatjana.Jevremovic@utah.edu X	Tatjana Jevremovic
no pure	Piero.Ravetto@polito.it	Piero Ravetto
Wat Alle	jesseema@ornl.gov	Matthew Anderson Jessee
	mohamed.elsawi@kustar.ac.ae	Mohamed Abdelhalim ElSawi
	kitada@see.eng.osaka-u.ac.jp	Takanori Kitada
	demaz@chalmers.se	Christophe Demaziere
	Andrea.Alfonsi@inl.gov	Andrea Alfonsi
	jiw2@rpi.edu	Wei Ji
Signature	e-mail	Name
ee	Reactor Physics Division: Program Committee ANS Winter Meeting Las Vegas, NV, Caesars Palace November 6-10, 2016 (page 1)	R

Little for his hall he		
Manufacture of the state of the	moussa.mahgerefteh@exeloncorp.com	Moussa Mahgerefeteh
A CAR	SAKempfNE@gmail.com	Stephanie Kempf
188 Kenyshi (as	caolz@mail.xjtu.edu.cn	Liangzhi Cao
Manual Control of the	sunilsc@tamu.edu	Sunil S. Chirayath
	nbrown@bnl.gov	Nicholas R. Brown
	es607@cam.ac.uk	Eugene Shwageraus
	abdelkhalik@purdue.edu	Hany Abdel-Khalik
	collinsbs@ornl.gov	Benjamin S Collins
	palmtag@gmail.com	Scott Palmtag
	Amanda.Lang@duke-energy.com	Amanda L. Lang
	ilasg@ornl.gov	Germina Ilas
	akahler@lanl.gov	Dr. A. C. (Skip) Kahler
tee	Reactor Physics Division: Program Committee ANS Winter Meeting Las Vegas, NV, Caesars Palace November 6-10, 2016 (page 2)	7
e in the second		ĸ

Aller to Telle-	alby@anl.gov	Alberto Talamo
	nstauff@anl.gov	Nicolas Stauff
Ž	bofeng@anl.gov	Bo Feng
	fheidet@anl.gov	Florent Heidet
\mathcal{N}_{Λ}	jlconlin@lanl.gov	Jeremy Conlin
	andrew.casella@pnnl.gov	Andrew M. Casella
Won Sile Yard	yang494@purdue.edu	Won Sik Yang
	Mathieu.Hursin@psi.ch	Mathieu Hursin
	November 6-10, 2016 (page 3)	
СС	ANS Winter Meeting Las Vegas, NV, Caesars Palace	
Committee	Reactor Physics Division: Program Committee	R

The state of the s

Atico Yamamoto

a-xamamito @ nul. nagoyav.ac.p. Lit &x

PC

Neal Manh tausto tranceschini franceto westinghouse, com Mealdwann @ email. Com

Luit Lead
Pavel Tsuetka
Travis Labassiere-Hickman

Ruran Deng Lang Young

Grustano Alonso

Lyothir Kumar Nimmagadda

luit leal à insn. fr tsuellou Etamu-edu

tilaboss @ mit. edu

poteny @ purcture edu your 924 @ purolue. Au

gustavo alonso 3 Pamail.com

ANS Winter Meeting & Expo

November 6-10, 2016 Nuclear Science + Technology: Imperatives for a Sustainable World ATTENDANCE SHEET

RPD-GOALS + PROGRAM

3. 7		V
Moussa Mangerefteh Fausto Francesch	Exelon Nuclear	france for westing house workau A @ ORM. 60V
Fausto Francesch	ni Weshinghouse	france for westing house.
Andy Wowall	DRM	WORRAUA @ ORM. 60V
Christopher Hughes	4F	crhughes outl. edu
" Cristian Rabiti	INL	cristic rebiti Qiul.gov
William Walters	Penn State	Wiw Z4@ psy.edu
Matthew Jessee	ORNL	
FLORENT HEIDET	ANL	Jesseema Gornl.gov
Travis Labossière-Hickman	MIT	tilaboss @ mi f. edu
Pavel Tsvetkov	TAMU	tsvetkova tamu edu
Luit Leal	IRSN	luit.leal@insn.fr
PIERO RAVETTO	Politecnico di Torino	piero, ravetto @ polito. it
Maar Siddigui	DC-Berkeley undergrad	raika 13 Oberkelog. Idu
d		J
		4
		5.7°.

